Is Oat Bran Gluten Free

_
What is gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein found in cereals like wheat and people who suffer from a disease like celiac should not eat it. As it can cause side effect and allergy.

The sad part is that most of the foods available in the market are made up of wheat or refined wheat flour. Gluten creates problems for Celiacs But there is hope because Oat bran can be used as a perfect alternative that too without any side effects what so ever.

So can celiacs eat oat bran?
The answer is a definitive yes!

BUT make sure that you get oat bran flour from a mill which does not use the same machinery to crush the wheat.

Many health experts suggest that it is not a very good idea because it may then contain some gluten as some wheat might get mixed into the bran in the process.

So from next time always buy oat bran flour from a trusted source and make sure that Oat bran does not contain any gluten.




More info about Oat Bran:


Post Comments

Add a New Comment
Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License